There will not be an open house this year.

Applications are welcome!!


Please note: Since the decision about admission to the 1st grade is not made by the school but by the Berlin Senate, the school, unfortunately, cannot provide any information about the status of the application process. For this, please contact the Senate Administration for Education, Youth and Family Affairs to which you also sent the application (see below).

The documents will not be reconsidered until after the language tests and will not be sent to the Senate until December.


If your child was born between 1 Oktober 2015 and 30 September 2016, s/he will start school in the school year 2022/23.

Please register your school-age child at the assigned primary school between 27 September and 8 October 2021. This is usually the public primary school closest to your residence.

If you wish to enroll your child at WMIS, you must request a change of school from the elementary school in your catchment area.

In addition, you may register your child at our school. The current registration form and an information leaflet are available for download below (from 26 September 2021). You need to present a negative Corona test result when registering.
 

As a precaution, we point out hin, dass

1. consideration in the school admission procedure can only take place in exceptional cases if the complete application documents for school enrollment are received by the school no later than 2 weeks before the date of the school place allocation , i.e. no later than 29.04.2022 and all requirements are met.

2. only children can be admitted to the Wangari Maathai International School who have their habitual residence in the state of Berlin at the time of school registration, but at the latest at the time of the allocation of school places, which will take place in calendar week 19 in May 2022. An exception applies only to the admission of children of highly mobile families coming from abroad. If these families are not yet resident in Berlin at the time of registration or allocation of school places, they can still be admitted to the Wangari Maathai International School if they meet the admission criteria, but only under a condition subsequent,
 

Our office time for enrolment are:

Monday & Tuesday & Thursday & Friday: 8-12 o'clock

Wednesday 12-14 o'clock

Please note that according to Berlin school law, you are not allowed to apply to numerous schools at the same time.

As a State International School, we accept children who have an age-appropriate command of German or English as a native language; children whose native language is German must also have at least a passive knowledge of English.

We are assessing the language competencies required for admission with language tests.

Depending on which language you have specified as your mother tongue, your mother tongue skills are checked in an English or German test; Children who are registered as bilingual are tested in both languages of instruction. 

Ten places per class are given to children who live permanently in Berlin and ten places to children from highly mobile families (*). Five places are available for pupils with German as their mother tongue - and five places are reserved for pupils with English as their mother tongue.

* Families are considered to be highly mobile if they relocate the center of their life abroad several times at intervals of usually no more than four years for professional reasons of one or both legal guardians, not only for a short time; One-time stays abroad as well as immigration or emigration intentions do not constitute grounds for high mobility.

If the Wangari Maathai International School Berlin is your second or third choice, it is not necessary to submit an application to us. In the event of rejection by the school with the highest priority, the application documents will be forwarded to us.


Send the completed form by e-mail to the Senate Administration: anmeldung.WMIS@senbjf.berlin.de (no scanned PDF) (see "Checklist for registration")

Ein Tag der offenen Tür findet in diesem Jahr nicht statt.

Bewerbungen sind herzlich willkommen!


Bitte beachten Sie: Da die Entscheidung über die Zulassung zur 1. Klasse nicht von der Schule, sondern vom Berliner Senat getroffen wird, kann die Schule leider keinerlei Informationen zum Stand des Bewerbungsverfahrens geben.

Die Dokumente werden erst nach den Sprachtests erneut geprüft und nicht vor Dezember an den Senat weitergeleitet.


Wenn Ihr Kind im Zeitraum vom 1. Oktober 2015 bis 30. September 2016 geboren ist, wird es zum Schuljahr 2022/23 eingeschult.

Bitte melden Sie Ihr schulpflichtiges Kind in der Zeit vom 27. September bis 8. Oktober 2021 in der für Sie zuständigen Grundschule an. Diese ist in der Regel die Ihrer Wohnung nächstgelegene öffentliche Grundschule. 

Wenn Sie Ihr Kind an der WMIS anmelden möchten, müssen Sie einen Schulwechsel bei der Grundschule in Ihrem Einzugsgebiet beantragen.

Zusätzlich können Sie Ihr Kind an unserer Schule anmelden. Das aktuelle Anmeldeformular und ein Merkblatt finden Sie unten (ab dem 26.09.2021). Ein Negativtest bezüglich Covid muss vorgelegt werden.

Wir weisen vorsorglich darauf hin, dass

1. eine Berücksichtigung im Schulaufnahmeverfahren nur in Ausnahmefällen erfolgen kann, wenn die vollständigen Antragsunterlagen zur Schulanmeldung spätestens 2 Wochen vor dem Zeitpunkt der Schulplatzvergabe , d.h. spätestens am 29.04.2022 bei der Schule vorliegen und alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind.

2. nur Kinder in die Wangari-Maathai-Internationale-Schule aufgenommen werden können, die zum Zeitpunkt der Schulanmeldung, spätestens aber zum Zeitpunkt der Schulplatzvergabe, die in der Kalenderwoche 19 im Mai 2022 stattfinden wird, im Land Berlin ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt haben. Eine Ausnahme gilt nur für die Aufnahme von Kindern aus dem Ausland kommender hochmobiler Familien. Sofern diese Familien zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung bzw. der Schulplatzvergabe noch nicht in Berlin wohnhaft sind, kann eine Aufnahme in die Wangari-Maathai-Internationale-Schule bei Erfülung der Aufnahmekriterien dennoch erfolgen, allerdings lediglich unter einer auflösenden Bedingung,
 

Die Bürozeiten für die Anmeldung lauten:

Montag + Dienstag + Donnerstag + Freitag: 8-12 Uhr

Mittwoch: 12-14 Uhr

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie sich nach dem Berliner Schulgesetz nicht an mehreren Schulen gleichzeitig anmelden dürfen.

Wir als Staatliche Internationale Schule nehmen Kinder auf, die Deutsch oder Englisch altersgemäß wie eine Muttersprache beherrschen; Kinder mit der Muttersprache Deutsch müssen zusätzlich mindestens passive Kenntnisse in Englisch besitzen.

Die für die Aufnahme erforderlichen sprachlichen Kompetenzen überprüfen wir mit Sprachtests.

Je nachdem, welche Sprache Sie als Muttersprache angegeben haben, erfolgt die Überprüfung der muttersprachlichen Kenntnisse in einem Englisch- oder in einem Deutschtest; Kinder, die als bilingual angemeldet sind, werden in beiden Unterrichtssprachen getestet. 

Je Klasse werden zehn Plätze an Kinder vergeben, die dauerhaft in Berlin wohnen, und zehn Plätze an Kinder aus hochmobilen Familien (*). Jeweils fünf Plätze stehen dabei für Schülerinnen und Schüler mit der Muttersprache Deutsch zur Verfügung – und fünf Plätze sind Schülerinnen und Schülern mit der Muttersprache Englisch vorbehalten.

*Familien gelten als hochmobil, wenn sie ihren Lebensmittelpunkt aus beruflichen Gründen eines oder beider Erziehungsberechtigten mehrfach in Abständen von in der Regel höchstens vier Jahren nicht nur kurzzeitig in das Ausland verlagern; einmalige Auslandsaufenthalte sowie Ein- oder Auswanderungsabsichten begründen keine Hochmobilität.

Falls die Wangari-Maathai-Internationale-Schule Berlin Ihr Zweit- oder Drittwunsch ist, ist es nicht notwendig, einen Antrag bei uns einzureichen. Im Falle einer Ablehnung durch die vorrangig gewünschte Schule werden die Antragsunterlagen an uns weitergereicht.


Senden Sie das ausgefüllte Formular per E-Mail an die Senatsverwaltung: anmeldung.WMIS@senbjf.berlin.de (keine eingescannten PDF) (Siehe „Checkliste zur Anmeldung“)