Compulsory education is not negotiable. In order to protect it, the Berlin School Act and the AV School Attendance Obligation bind the teachers of your child to certain legal measures. In the following we summarize the most important information for you:

Berlin School Act:

§44 Responsibility for compliance with compulsory schooling

“The legal guardians shall be responsible for the regular participation of school-aged pupils in lessons and other compulsory events at the school. You are obliged to register and deregister school-aged pupils with the school.“

The most important steps

On the first day of absence from school, the parent or guardian informs the school by telephone (between 7 a.m. and 7.30 a.m.) that their child will not come to school. If you cannot reach anyone by phone, please email secretary@wangari-maathai-schule.de and your child's class email address. If possible, please also indicate how long your child will be missing. The apology must also be made in writing on the third day of absence at the latest. When returning to school, the pupil must submit a declaration stating the duration of his/her absence and the reason for it (e.g. illness) (cf. AV compulsory school attendance). You are welcome to use the form "Declaration of absence" (see below).

Example: Your child is absent for the first time on Thursday. On Thursday, between 7 am and 7.30 am, call the school to report the absence of the child. The apology must be made in writing by Monday at the latest. If your child is absent for the first time on Monday, present a written apology by Wednesday at the latest.

Steps

  1. Call to the secretariate between 7 and 7:30 on the first day of absence OR ODER
  2. E-mail to secretariate and class e-mail
  3. Submission of a formal declaration of absence on the third day of absence (see form below).

If the apology is not made within the specified periods, the absence shall be noted as unexcused.

If a pupil fails to attend classes without an excuse, the school must contact his or her legal guardian on the first day of absence without an excuse.

If a pupil is absent from class for five days without an excuse, the school must report this to the education authority. The proceedings are repeated after a further five unexcused days of absence in each half-year.

Note on excuse reasons

There must be an important reason for absenteeism and permission must be obtained in advance. For example, a visit to the doctor during class time is generally not permitted unless it can be demonstrated that the appointment cannot be postponed or that the illness is serious and requires immediate treatment. A booked holiday trip is not a reason for leave.

Die Schulpflicht ist nicht verhandelbar. Um sie zu schützen, binden das Berliner Schulgesetz sowie die AV Schulbesuchspflicht die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer Ihres Kindes an bestimmte, rechtliche Maßnahmen. Im Folgenden fassen wir für Sie die wichtigsten Informationen zusammen:

Berliner Schulgesetz – Auszug

§44 Verantwortung für die Einhaltung der Schulpflicht

Die Erziehungsberechtigten verantworten die regelmäßige Teilnahme der oder des Schulpflichtigen am Unterricht und an den sonstigen verbindlichen Veranstaltungen der Schule. Sie sind verpflichtet, die Schulpflichtige oder den Schulpflichtigen bei der Schule an- und abzumelden.

AV Schulbesuchspflicht – die wichtigsten Schritte

Vom ersten Tag des Fernbleibens vom Unterricht haben die Erziehungsberechtigten ihr Kind telefonisch in der Schule zu entschuldigen. Spätestens am dritten Tag des Fernbleibens muss die Entschuldigung auch schriftlich erfolgen. Bei der Rückkehr in die Schule hat die Schülerin oder der Schüler eine Erklärung vorzulegen, aus der sich die Dauer ihres oder seines Fernbleibens sowie der Grund dafür (z. B. Krankheit) ergeben.

Beispiel: Ihr Kind fehlt erstmals am Donnerstag. Am Donnerstag rufen Sie zwischen 7 Uhr und 7.30 Uhr in der Schule an, um das Fehlen des Kindes mitzuteilen. Spätestens am Montag muss die Entschuldigung schriftlich erfolgen. Fehlt Ihr Kind erstmals am Montag, legen Sie spätestens am Mittwoch eine schriftliche Entschuldigung vor.

Schritte

  1. Anruf im Sekretariat zwischen 7 Uhr und 7.30 Uhr am ersten Tag des Fehlens ODER
  2. E-Mail ans Sekretariat & Klassen-E-Mail
  3. Abgabe einer schriftlichen Bitte um Entschuldigung am dritten Tag des Fehlens (> Verwenden Sie gern den Vordruck „Erklärung über Fehlzeiten“, S. 2)

Erfolgt die Entschuldigung nicht in den genannten Fristen, ist das Fehlen als unentschuldigt zu notieren.

Bleibt eine Schülerin oder ein Schüler unentschuldigt dem Unterricht fern, so hat die Schule bereits am ersten unentschuldigten Fehltag mit den Erziehungsberechtigten Kontakt aufzunehmen.

Bleibt eine Schülerin oder ein Schüler fünf Tage dem Unterricht unentschuldigt fern, muss beim Schulamt das Schulversäumnis angezeigt werden. Das Verfahren wiederholt sich jeweils nach weiteren fünf unentschuldigten Fehltagen im Halbjahr.

Hinweis zu Entschuldigungsgründen:

Für ein Fernbleiben vom Unterricht muss ein wichtiger Grund vorliegen und eine Erlaubnis vorab eingeholt werden. So wird z.B. ein Arztbesuch während der Unterrichtszeit grundsätzlich nicht gestattet, es sei denn, es kann glaubhaft gemacht werden, dass der Termin nicht verlegt werden kann oder dass es sich um eine schwere Erkrankung handelt, die eine sofortige Behandlung notwendig macht. Eine gebuchte Ferienreise ist kein Beurlaubungsgrund.